Goals and Progress

unrealistic-weight-loss-goals-will-mess-you-upToo often we, as human beings, want perfection, and we want it NOW!  This is a hard habit to break.   To think that after week three that I can be at a level working out that I was 10 years ago is, ridiculously unrealistic.  The reality is I have a long way to go, and it is not, NOT an easy road.be-the-best-you-can

It is not as simple as “eating clean” when the budget does not allow for it. It is not as easy as “go to the gym 5 days a week” when your body says or your work schedule says “no”. 

Working within your (my) reality, the family budget, time constraints, physical ability and limitations is what you have to do.

weight-loss-goal-settingWith all that said, goals have to be realistic, and attainable.  I need both short term and long term goals.  Goals are also personal.  For me, “looking good” is a minor consideration.  Not that I do not want to look good, it is just not at the top of my list. So here are a few of my Goals.never quit

Long Term

  1.  Get my weight down to 190 lbs. 
  2. Be able to walk a mile in 15 minutes
  3. Be able to walk without being out of breath
  4. Eat healthier

417707_136805043162141_1757700114_nShort Term

  1. Lose 2 lbs a week
  2. Go to the gym 3 days a week
  3. Have more energy daily
  4. Weigh myself only 1 time a week

These are just a few of the most important ones.  There are otherstoday-i-will-not-stand-in-my-own-way-self-sabotage-failure-give-up-determination-eat-clean-reach-goals-he-and-she-248x300

  1. Wear a smaller size in time for my son’s wedding in August
  2. Be able to dance at my son’s wedding in August
  3. Be able to wear high heels , (even for a short time)
  4. To shop at a normal store and wear normal sizes

The last ones are more about vanity than health.  I also want to be stronger, healthier and, yes, sexier.  I know BCC loves me. That is not even an issue.  He supports me and goes with me to the gym (even though he does not like it).  I want to be able to look in the mirror and not want to cringe.  I don’t think I will ever like full length mirrors; they show every flaw there is.  But I want to be more accepting of who I am flaws and all.

be-the-best-you-canI do not want to be “skinny” I want to be fit.  I want to be able to live to see my grandbabies. I want to be able to get down on the floor and play with them.  I do not want to become like my father who was very large, and seemingly uncaring about his health.  I want to live life to its fullest.  I want to walk arm in arm with BCC on the beach of our post lottery dreams.

I am going to fight and fight hard to reach my goals.  I am not going to give up because it’s hard.  I am going to look at the positives every time I can. Goals-Progress

Tomorrow is weigh in day.  We will see what happens, and I will find something good in the day no matter what the scale says. 

Because I AM MAKING PROGRESS!

Leave a Reply

